Author Topic: How often do you....  (Read 5623 times)

Offline BMG

• Barely Abarth
    • View Profile
  • Registration Number: YC16XUU
How often do you....
« on: May 17, 2016, 10:43:11 AM »
Hi Guys,

This might seem like a really simple question but i'm starting to purchase new products & looking for some guidance.

Obviously if you are going to a show or a special trip etc then your car would get a good going over but what is your regular schedule?

I'm thinking wash & wheels every 1-2 weeks...

interior & polish every 4 - 6 weeks

wax every 8-10 weeks

full detail 2 - 3 times a year?

Interested to see what you professionals do ;)

Cheers
Guys

Offline sjs202

• Abarth Professional
    • View Profile
Re: How often do you....
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2016, 11:13:04 AM »
Hey BMG.  I don't consider myself a professional but I have been detailing my own cars for a few years now (around 2011 is when I got into it) and have gathered a small collection of products.  My car care routine car is:

Wash every 2-3 weeks (depending on conditions - for example, neighbour has recently been doing his back patio and has been cutting up bricks/mixing concrete!  So once a week recently!).  Use a decent quality car shampoo and a microfiber sponge.  As long as you are careful you can minimise the chance of causing scratches during washing.  Start at the top and work your way down.  I also have a separate sponge I use for the wheels and anything below the body kit side skirts. 

I do a full detail at least once a year in the spring.  If I have time and the weather is decent I will do a second full detail before the worst of the winter - so around end of October time.  In any case it will get a coat of sealant at that point if not a full detail.